Treats the symptoms not the cause/What I’m not

I cannot be your

Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Zooey Deschanel-like creative muse

I cannot be your

saviour, redeemer, sustainer

That damsel in shining armour idea’s a ruse

.

But what I can offer you

is shoulders of steel and a heart full of stubborn love

and more patience than you might think possible

You just need to give me a reason to believe

it will all be worth it to stick it out

And that’s not very hard to do

You just have to be you.

.

I cannot be your

panacea

Curing all ills with magical feminine presence

I will not be your

live-in cook and cleaner, with added lovemaking

I’d do all sorts of things for love but I won’t (just) do that

You’d better shape up, ’cause I need a man

who can stand, strong or weak, on this own two feet

but who’d prefer to run a three-legged race.

.

I can’t be yours, anyway

I’ve been bought

But I’m available for long-term loan

If you’re up for a swap.

.

Does that sound like a good deal to you?

2 thoughts on “Treats the symptoms not the cause/What I’m not

Leave a Reply

