Physical Geography of loss

This blue of you

Is a pale moonlight shade

Silvery, ephemeral

Beautiful,

as indelible

as the smell of you

Your hug left on my hair

The night you said goodbye.

*

I catch your scent

on strangers on the train

And wafting past me at the station.

It makes me want to cry

But in a way I can’t get enough of

And the work of withdrawal

is undone in a moment.

*

For this love has always been glacial

My heart like a rock it eroded little by little

A steady attrition by trickle

My heart swelling as I see you and

contracting as you go

The cracks it has left in me

Once again wide open

And aching to the wind.

Leave a Reply

