Rocks & sand

Someone wise once advised
Against construction upon the shore
Rather choose rocks, a basis much more sure
But some rocks were formed from sand
And time (and pressure) has fused them tight enough.
Sedimentary, my dear Rabbi
And Peter was but a pebble when you picked him, after all.
Or am I mixing metaphors?

What I mean to say is
How firm is firm enough?
And what exactly is this faith?
Is it a mere attitude, a decision
To keep on going, trying & seeking
Or something more profound than that?

Lord, I believe; help me with my unbelief.

Leave a Reply

